大学预科课程
国际关系与政治专业方向

大学预科课程 国际关系与政治专业方向*

*2018年1月开学

当今世界,国际关系变化莫测,政治主张日益多样,政治诉求不断提升。选择学习国际关系与政治专业,你会对现代英国政治、政治体制及观念、全球政治制度的主要特点、意识形态及理论等有所了解,并通过所学到的知识去认识和理解这个被政治与全球化趋势主导的世界。

你可以选择在贝勒比斯布莱顿校区学习。布莱顿是一个具有前瞻理念的现代化海滨城市,不仅安全,而且生机勃勃、充满活力,能激发学生们的创造性思维、也为他们专注于学业提供了良好的外部环境。学生每周上课18-25小时。所有就读于大学预科课程的学生都要学习4个共通必修科目,旨在培养学生们的基础学术和英语语言能力;除此之外,还要完成所选学术领域方向的6个专业科目。该课程的专业科目都紧密围绕着国际关系与政治专业。

完成这门预科课程,我能升读哪些大学和学位呢?

该也可课程的毕业生曾考取的大学本科专业包括:心理学、传媒、国际关系、政治学、地理学、英语文学及其他相关专业。

预科课程毕业生的大学升读去向

点击此处,你可以了解更多关于我们学院大学预科课程毕业生的大学升读去向。

课程的具体信息

如果您想了解更多关于该课程的入学成绩和英语语言要求、开学时间、所需签证类型及所在校区的具体信息,请参考我们的入学要求网页.

3.5学期制预科课程将于十月开课

参加将于十月开课的大学预科课程班,你将有额外半学期的时间为即将在一月份开学的大学预科课程做好方方面面的准备。你将有更多的时间来学习英语语言课程,培养在英国留学的各项学习技能,提前获得更多的大学报考指导并有更多的时间来适应新环境。

必修科目

英国政治系统

了解关键性的政治理念并学习英国政治、议会、政府结构和英国的主要国家机构。



当代英国政治

学习英国的主要政党和次要政党以及施压集团的作用和意义,了解公民自由的作用和促使我们为某一政党投票的动机。


国际政治学

学习重大的全球政治问题,包括国际政权、全球化、国际冲突及国际恐怖主义所带来的影响,在此基础上对特定的内容进行深入研究并就此提交一篇论文。

全球政治系统

能够深入理解全球政治系统、其运作的流程和围绕国际政治存在问题的实质,其中包括政府间主义、战争、人权和全球化治理等。

国际化理论和意识形态学

能够深入了解对现代政治起到支撑作用同时也是对我们日常观念起到引导作用的理论,例如保守主义、自由主义、现实主义、马克思主义等。这些思想是如何形成的,它们还适用于当今社会吗?

国际化的发展

学习国际关系运行背后的理论。理解目前存在的国际问题背后的原因和理论,例如贫困、国际冲突及其他全球性挑战等。

预科课程必修共通科目

大学预科英语能力1

培养英文学术文章的阅读及短篇学术文章的写作能力,学习怎样做学术文章摘要、用英文记随堂笔记以及如何运用英语口语进行话题种类繁多的课堂讨论。



大学预科英语能力2

在掌握大学预科英语能力1的基础上进一步提高其涵盖的各项技能,进而能够更加精准自如地运用英文来构造内容连贯紧凑并有表现力的文章。



大学预科英语能力3

培养攻读大学本科学位所需的学术英文能力。该必修课包括:在掌握预科英语能力1和2的基础上进一步拓展基于英国文化研究论文的写作技巧和能力,课堂讨论和辩论,大学讲堂听力、记课堂笔记以及做课堂总结和口头报告的能力。

计算机信息技术

提高IT(信息技术)素养和创造力,包括使用微软办公软件、商务和媒体应用软件以及提高利用国际互联网搜索和收集准确信息的能力。




英国普通中等教育证书课程 (GCSEs)

GCSEs普通中等教育证书课程,贝勒比斯学院的GCSE学生年龄从13岁起,较早地接受英语语言、学习技巧和英国文化的熏陶,为未来衔接A Levels或大学预科课程打下坚实的基础。

GCSEs(英国普通中等教育证书课程)是在A Level或大学预科课程之前所要学习的。我院的GCSE课程是为14岁及以上的学生而设立的。通过该课程学生可以较早地接受纯正的英语语言训练、获得学习技巧并适应英国文化,也为学生在竞争激烈的英国甚至全球高等教育中取得成功打好基础。

英国高中课程 (A Level)

A Levels是英国的普通中等教育证书考试高级水平课程,也是英国学生的大学入学考试课程,受到所有英国大学的认可,也受美国和澳大利亚的大学认可。因此,就读A Level课程的学生将有广泛的大学可供选择。贝勒比斯学院的各校区均开设A Level课程。

A Level课程是英国高中教育文凭课程,被英国的所有大学承认并被美国和澳大利亚的大学所认可。因此顺利获得A Level教育文凭会让你获得在全世界范围内选择大学的机会。学生一般选择学习三到四门课程,并在第二年末学习结束时接受考试。

大学预科课程 (Foundation)

贝勒比斯伦敦校区的明星学生Mark Lee。

大学预科课程是为国际学生准备的为期一年的课程。该课程帮助学生习得专业学科知识、纯正的英文学术语言并获得在大学学习的各项技能。和A Level课程相比,大学预科课程更具有大学本科专业针对性能为学生升读大学做好准备。我们的预科课程被70余所英国大学认可。

International Relations and Politics Foundation

International Relations and Politics Foundation*

*available from January 2018

We live in world dominated by fast-moving international relations and increasingly diverse and demanding politics. Choose to study International Relations and Politics and you will learn about modern British Politics, political institutions and concepts, key features of global political systems, ideologies and theories. Our International Relations and Politics Foundation students learn the skills to understand a world dominated by politics and globalisation.

You can study at our Brighton College. Brighton is a forward-thinking modern city by the sea. It offers students a safe, vibrant and dynamic place to explore their ideas and study. Students study for 18-25 hours per week in class. All students on the Foundation programme study four core modules which develop academic and English language skills, in addition to the six subject-specific modules of their chosen pathway, modules tailored for International Relations and Politics students. 

Where will this Foundation take me?

Our students have gone to university to study subjects including psychology, media, international relations, politics, geography, English literature and other related fields at university.

Destination universities

You can explore a selection of university destinations that Foundation students can choose from here.

Foundation key facts

Minimum age: 16.5+
Course length: 3 or 3.5 terms
Start dates: September, October, January. See term dates
Entry requirements: Satisfactory completion of secondary or high school education. 4 GCSEs at C or above.
English language requirements: IELTS 4.5, or IELTS 5.0 for a January start.
Location: Brighton
Tuition fees per term: Brighton: £7,120

Prepare for Foundation in October (3.5 term)

Start in October and you will have an extra one half of a term to prepare for the Foundation programme in January. You will receive extra English classes, extra university guidance and have more time to develop study skills.

Course modules

The British Political System

Understand key political concepts and study British politics, parliament, the structure of government and the main offices of state.

Modern British Politics

Study the major and the minor political parties as well as the role and significance of pressure groups and learn about the role of civil liberties and what motivates us to vote for a particular party.

International Politics

Study major global political issues, including global political power and the impact of globalisation, conflict and global terrorism, and produce one major extended coursework essay.

Global Political Systems

Gain a key understanding the systems, processes and issues surrounding world politics including that of intergovernmentalism, war, human rights and the idea of global governance.

Global Theories and Ideologies

Gain a key understanding of the theories which underpin modern politics and which guide our everyday views, such as conservatism, liberalism, Realism and Marxism. Who developed these ideas and how applicable are they today?

Global Development

Study the theories behind how international relations operate. Understand the reasons and theories behind the presence of issues like poverty, conflict and other global challenges.

Core modules

Foundation English Skills 1

Develop the ability to read academic texts, write short academic texts, take notes from written and oral sources and use spoken English to discuss a variety of topics.

Foundation English Skills 2

Improve all the abilities in FES1, developing greater accuracy, speed, cohesion, organisation and presentation.

Foundation English Skills 3

Develop academic English skills for university. This continually assessed course module includes an extended research essay based on an aspect of British culture, debates and discussions, listening, note-taking and summarising as well as oral presentation.

Computer Information Technology

Improving IT literacy and creativity using MS Office, Business and Media applications; develop internet research skills.

GCSEs

600x400

GCSEs are taken as a course of study before taking A levels or a Foundation pathway. Our GCSE Pathway programme offers students from the age of 14 years an early opportunity to establish the language, learning and cultural skills they need to succeed in the highly competitive world of higher education.

A Levels

Bellerbys Cambridge students in a Foundation Media class at the College

A Levels are British qualifications, accepted by all universities in the UK and recognised in the USA and Australia. Students who are with us for five or six terms will typically study up to four A Levels. This gives you a world of choice. Students typically study three or four subjects with exams at the end of two years.

Foundation

Bellerbys London Star Student Mark Lee

A one-year course for international students that builds specialist subject knowledge and language and study skills. It is more focussed than A Levels making it good preparation for university. It is recognised for entry onto a range of degree programmes at more than 70 universities in the UK.